Skip to content

Hello Beautiful Forehead!

December 14, 2010

In my daily life as an ESL teacher, I get random English shouted at me literally all day; any time from leaving to returning my house is fair game for English yellings. I like these encounters with students since students have no pressure to give a particular answer nor do they overthink their words. Usually what happens is a student and his or her friend will shout “hello” or “teacher” at me then string together Korean, Konglish and various English words to get their point across….I’m usually given between .25 and a .8 seconds to respond then everyone smiles and goes on with their day.

I’m so used to this event that I can pretty much process anything that’s thrown at me and spit it back in a more acceptable syntax. In the case from the comic, two girls wanted to express that my forehead was pretty because a rounded forehead isn’t very common in Korea. I didn’t have enough to time to engage them in this endeavor or correct their grammar so instead I translated and thanked em. Then I made this comic.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2010 4:39 am

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you for that delightful comic hehe It’s amazing what we have learned to decipher from our students..
    “Teacher…umm…you…umm…baby?” My students said to me one day, while furiously pointing at my long, tunic shirt. I thought I looked quiet styling, never-mind I guess ๐Ÿ™‚

    • aukissed permalink*
      December 23, 2010 7:06 am

      Oh boy. Students can be rather…candid and straight forward at times. On the one hand, they’re speaking English. On the other, they’re going to try to pull that on some unsuspecting foreigner one day and be in for quite the surprise when some western person flips out over a comment like that.

      I’ve been enduring being called Broccoli, Africa and Jamaica Fitness for the past year and a half…so very few things phase me now.

Leave a Reply

