Skip to content

Hello Teachers!

October 22, 2010

I think I mentioned that I don’t have any afterschool programs this year. Hearing this news made me sad for the missing money and small classes and happy to have the time to chill have more time to do other things. Turns out that, while I’m not at a complete lack for things to do, I find myself incredibly bored in the 1.5 hour gap between the end of my last class and the time I can go home.

The solution is volunteer work. I decided to search for a need at my school and fill it. For a long time, I’ve been getting semi-passive aggressive hints that the teachers and staff were very interested in learning English from me. I was never really sure how to manage this in the past since most of my intereactions with Sinwol’s staff involved alcohol or the pressure to imbibe. So, I applied my marketing degree in the most relevant way possible; I made a comprehensive survey. A really good survey. I asked what teachers wanted to learn, what time was best, what they hoped to accomplish and so on. 

Now, every Thursday at 3:30 we meet up and talk about stuff. I’m using the Jazz English series for vocabulary and some structure and focus most of our hour on intonation and clarity in basic conversation. I knew that this would be a fun class, the teachers at my school have always conveyed humor and an entertaining brand of cynicism even with the language barrier. We also all share the common experience that is corralling the overcrowded, disrespectful, crazed student population.

Predictably we talked about teaching and students. The words lenient and strict were on the vocab list for chapter 1 and we certainly put those to work. I’m also proud to say that I successfully explained the concept of TGIF – while all teachers in the class knew about the restaurants, they weren’t keen on the letters. This morning, one of the teachers came up to me with a baked sweet potato exclaiming exasperatedly “TGIF!” And we both nodded and shared a relieved chuckle.

But seriously, TGIF.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Angel Cartagena permalink
    October 22, 2010 1:39 pm

    K-

    Love the initiative. Plus, more proof that you are passionate about this teaching thing.

    Still praying for you. Have a blessed weekend!

    A

Leave a Reply

