Skip to content

Hello Jamaica Fitness!

September 27, 2010

Running up and down flights of stairs for class just isn’t cutting it anymore. No, I actually signed up for a 3 month stint at the local gym chain, Jamaica Fitness.

Today was my first day.

The staff walked me through the program customized for my body type, which was tough with the language barrier but manageable. At least three of the trainers at the 24 hour gym speak enough technical health English to get me through the machines. There was the usual amount of hand holding through just about every detail – some of it was necessary most was meh. Thankfully I only got a few stares being the only foreigner there but I felt loads better after meeting a few people who genuinely wanted to help me out.

Two and some change hours later, I came out with a completed workout worksheet all sweaty and gross and pretty satisfied with the experience. Once I get used to wearing a uniform and get the program straight, it’ll probably be a pleasant experience…I don’t think I see that happening any time in the near future.

Update:

I am definitely not the only foreigner at my gym. There are at least 3 others, one of whom is a really nice Korean-American guy who has helped me a lot. As far as I know though, I’m the only lady foreigner and the only black one. Despite this, the stares are pretty minimal now.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Angel Cartagena permalink
    September 27, 2010 4:02 pm

    K:

    Taking care of yourself physically is important. I’m so proud of your decision to sign up at the gym. Try not to see it as a chore, but see it as a chance to improve yourself. It will be rough at first, but once you get into a regular routine, you’ll feel great!

    Take care of yourself and remember that we are praying for you every day. You are so incredibly awesome!!! 🙂

    A

    • aukissed permalink*
      October 11, 2010 12:40 pm

      It’s so true! Ever since I started working out I’ve felt my mood elevate by a lot and I go through inevitable-working-close-to-children-colds much faster.

      It was a blessing many ways: I feel great and I met my Korean language exchange friend, Seung Sil, who is an absolute sweetheart.

  2. Dave permalink
    October 7, 2010 3:43 am

    Hi! I’m new in Seoul and I just stumbled upon your blog. Could you tell me how much is a 3/6-mo. membership at Jamaica Fitness?
    Cheers,

    Dave

    • aukissed permalink*
      October 7, 2010 5:18 am

      I got my 3 month membership for 140K won (a locker costs 15K for 3 months and it’s the same for a gym uniform) But I think I signed up during a discount period (post Chuseok). I believe the regular price is 200K but you might be better off just going in as I’ve heard some gyms have foreigner discounts.

Leave a Reply

