Skip to content

Hello Sticker Currency!

September 3, 2010
tags:

While in America, I spent far more than I should’ve on prizes for my students. I figured since it’s probably my last year here, I should find a fun way to spoil the students with all kinds of stuff from toys to candy to pencils.

I wasn’t sure how to give the stuff out – if I just gave out a Silly Bandz bracelet for every good answer, then I’d end up with nothing by the end of the year. So instead I decided to burn off the thousands of stickers I got from Wendy by giving them out to trade in for prizes. 15 Stickers = One Prize from the Jar of Awesome (I’m the only one who calls it that).

As I only give out stickers for full sentences, I worried that 15 might take too long to collect. But I wasn’t counting on students giving me sentences JUST FOR THE STICKERS. Before The Sticker System, I’d get one word answers to any question but now I get full sentences for everything. After 10 classes, only student has earned 15 stickers in a single class…and the mayhem that ensued while he carefully chose a prize (a coveted powdered sugar filled bottle) was enough to get everyone else motivated for the next class.

Some of the awesome prizes include stuff that I have yet to see in Korea: Piie stix, Ring Pops, glitter foam stickers, Silly/ZanyBandz, Play Dough, and Bubbles. These items are especially desirable.

Will add photos…eventually.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cheree permalink
    September 6, 2010 3:17 pm

    Yay! Who’d ever thought that stickers would be such a huge motivator! Amazing! When full sentences become the norm you’re going to need to consider raising the bar. Perhaps with response turn back questions. For example, Teacher Question: What would you do with an apple? Student Answer: I would make an apple pie. Student turn back question: Do you like apple pie teacher? Let us Americans know if you need more than the 5.000 gadzillion stickers Wendy supplied you.

    • aukissed permalink*
      September 10, 2010 12:32 am

      You know, I could always use more stickers just for variety really. The Lisa Frank ones are a HUGE hit mostly because they make no sense AND have English on them.

      It’s actually tougher to keep up now that class participation is up so much. I’ve been asking more questions, harder questions and hypothetical questions to give out stickers in package deals. I’m also attaching them to homework and I plan on doing giving 2 to students who show me their above average listening test scores. I’m kind of getting carried away but I really want to keep up with their enthusiasm more than anything. I can always buy more prizes….it’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

