Skip to content

Goodbye America!

August 30, 2010

I renewed my contract.

This means:

  • a raise,
  • the opportunity to move (which has been a long, harrowing journey not yet completed),
  • some more trips to the Seoul Immigration Office which has cost me just short of 80,000 won at this point (and who knows how much time),
  • 2,000,000 won that I spent on a trip back home and
  • the chance to watch some of my favorite students graduate middle school.

I went back to DC/MD two weeks ago mostly to visit family and friends. My other agenda included replacing my worn out shoes and buying gifts and prizes for the students. I’ve certainly had great luck in both endeavors – I’m kind of mad at myself for bringing too much stuff back to Korea but at least my bags aren’t overweight. It’s also quite possible that my parents and I are more excited for the “prize jar” items than the students will be, but giving out stuff gives me a  joy that student apathy just can’t strip from me.

As much as I miss moms, poptarts, lush greenery on the streets, Ethiopian food, talking to English speaking strangers, going out in DC, candy corn, (Halloween starting in August), oatmeal, respect for pedestrians, lawns, ubiquitous ovens and baked goods, the American version of Italian food, and not having people walk into me, I found that I’ve missed Korea and am pretty happy to be back.

As a side note, a Korean man tried to walk through me on the metro as I was trying get off the car with my bags and I very satisfyingly body checked him. I can probably get away with this for now, being fresh from America, but likely the coming months of dealing with Korean …spatial relationships will wear me down until what would’ve been body checks will just turn into cursing under my breath. Ah, Seoul.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Angel Cartagena permalink
    August 31, 2010 1:43 am

    K-

    I’m so happy to know you made it back safely. It was wonderful seeing you and I want to thank you for taking the time to speak with Ruben.

    We will continue praying for you every day. Have a great and blessed school year!

    Love you,

    A

Leave a Reply

