Skip to content

Hey Teaching Photos!

July 16, 2010

An update from this post.

I bet the people back home are just dying to know what I’m actually up to in the classroom. Luckily, one of my most favorite co-teachers took plenty of pictures of me conducting a luau and doing all kinds of stuff for a vocabulary game.

Let's make flowers, guys: I was flabbergasted at how beautifully they turned out despite being one of the simplest crafts I've ever done.

Even boys got in on the fun

The one student who was too moody to make a flower, killed the limbo contest.

These kids had never limboed before. What a travesty. I had to explain that you couldn’t just crawl or crabwalk under the roll of paper. We played Limbo Rock, of course.

Look at me; lookin' all productive. Ignore the drawing of a crying blender.

The vocabulary game is a version of something I played in French class in high school only with different types of questions. Some involved drawing, some spelling, some unscrambling…I’ve found that starting the questions the same way “can you ____ it” helps them remember stuff and not feel intimidated when they can’t understand me.

Mini whiteboards are worth loads more than the overpriced, finicky, fancy pants SmartBoard.

That’s the English Zone in use. Those particular classes are small so I could give each team of two their own whiteboard and marker. You can see the girl on the side spacing out. I thought she was just daydreaming, turns out she was cooking up the right answer for the question in the game. Crazy.

Hey, did you ignore the drawing of a crying blender? Never ignore a drawing of a crying blender.

Not ever.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Angel Cartagena permalink
    July 18, 2010 5:50 pm

    Kristin:

    You look like you are having a wonderful time and you look absolutely beautiful! I am so proud of you and I know these kids will be better off because they got to spend time with you.

    We pray for you every day and am looking forward to your visit home. God bless you and keep you.

    Angel

  2. Alma Bentley permalink
    July 20, 2010 11:50 am

    Kristin,
    You look very happy! Love the colorful skirt. Looking foward to seeing
    you SOON! Love You, GrandMom

    • aukissed permalink*
      July 27, 2010 6:14 am

      I am quite happy! Crafts and games are very entertaining for both me and the students.
      I wore the dress to advertise the rainbow Jello at my fundraiser and because it’s a fantastic dress.

      I will be home oh so soon! I’m so excited to see everyone!

  3. October 8, 2010 3:10 pm

    I love these pictures; you’re a natural, and I hope those kids realize how lucky they are to have you!

    • aukissed permalink*
      October 11, 2010 12:37 pm

      Aw, thanks. I’ll be sure to thank Ryu for the pictures again. I do hope I get to teach the remedial level students again, they were so sweet.

Leave a Reply

