Skip to content

Hello Tonsil Nightmare!

June 8, 2010

After putting up with a small but annoying sore throat, I went to see the neighborhood ENT doctor to explain away some more intense symptoms. I had actually already been told that my tonsils were at fault but this time I watched my doctor crumble a bit telling me what the issue was. The more recent symptoms – fever, nausea, an abundance of tonsilloliths and some hypersensitive, lumpy thing in my throat – meant that my situation had become more severe, that my tonsillitis was pretty bad and had to be fixed by way of a tonsillectomy sooner rather than later.

I’ve kind of known this was coming but I’m still a bit concerned. I have to find two weeks for recovery that include a stay at the hospital. But let me just stop myself right there. I got some antibiotics that are supposed to help the swelling in my throat. As a bonus, the meds might help get rid of the rotting food and dead skin festering in the grooves of my tonsils. This is all really disgusting to deal with, by the way, not to mention extremely inconvenient.

After my emergency run to the ENT this morning, I was told to take meds, rest my voice and chillax. So, I didn’t teach today much to the chagrin of …well, everybody. The Korean teachers were concerned but had some kind of schadenfreude amusement from my illness after weeks of telling me to protect my voice. Word got around that I had a sore throat and before I knew it, students were wishing me luck, offering their medical advice (GO TO THE HOME, Go to HOS-PI-TAL, Do drugs Teacher!) and telling me they missed me. I dunno guys, it’s all the talking that’s making me feel oh so much worse.

So, I’m scared and worried and tired and drugged and paranoid. This week needs to wrap up.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie permalink
    June 12, 2010 6:25 pm

    Can you schedule it while we are there so we can help take care of you??????

    • aukissed permalink*
      June 14, 2010 12:01 am

      I might actually forego it. So worries! Come and behold the wonders of Korea!

  2. Alma J Bentley permalink
    June 13, 2010 2:45 am

    Grandmom
    Please take care–we love you.

    • aukissed permalink*
      June 14, 2010 12:00 am

      I’m actually doing a lot better now. The meds I took are really working for me…and I’ve changed my diet a bit to alleviate some of the symptoms.

      I love you too! I was actually thinking of you and grandad recently….and peaches. Although they’re not rare here, it’s tough and expensive to come by em. I’ve seen them sold individually here and there for the same price as a dozen where you guys are.

  3. Angel Cartagena permalink
    June 15, 2010 3:07 am

    Kristen:

    I’m sorry to hear that you’ve gone through this, but glad to hear that you are doing better. We pray for you daily and know that the Lord has you covered.

    God bless you Sweetie! 🙂

    Angel

Trackbacks

  1. Hello LASIK (in Seoul)! « Hello Annyong

Leave a Reply

