Skip to content

Hello Yellow Sand!

March 21, 2010

Imagine the height of pollen season in the DC/MD/VA area. It’s awful and the stuff gets so thick that it coats the cars and makes allergies a nightmare. Now, I’d say that the situation here is like that quadrupled.

From what I understand, the sand blows over to Korea from the deserts in China and turns the sky YELLOW and makes breathing awful. I had heard that this starts in the spring which I imagined to be April or May so I mistakenly spent near the entirety of my day yesterday outside walking around, wondering why the sky looked like armageddon.

It wasn’t until later that day that the effects set in…my eyes were burning constantly. Not itching but burning like some soap was in them. Then my lungs felt heavy like at the tail end of a nasty cold; the nasty cold, at least, tends to taper off the runny nose and sneezing at that stage but I was lucky enough to enjoy the full force of all the symptoms. The full force of a flu-like cold with the added bonus of opaque yellow mucus. Can you tell that I’m a little bitter?

Anyway,I’ll be sporting the face mask from now on or this season will just be miserable for me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Danni permalink
    April 8, 2010 10:12 pm

    China says, “You’re welcome, Kristin.”

Leave a Reply

