Skip to content

Goodbye 3rd Grade!

February 5, 2010

Pure merriment

The 3rd graders graduated today and tried very hard to make me cry I think. The pre-ceremony was two hours of uneventful deskwarming, waiting for students and parents cradling bouquets to pour in. A group of boys, self proclaimed Handsome Boys, came by my office and shook my hand, thanking me for teaching them. There’s a solid six of them in the group who are all going to the same high school. Wacth out high school ladies! The Handsome Boys are on their way and they’re not going to let anything (such as academic success) stand in the way of their suaveness!

The day crawled by until I left the bulding to have lunch with the staff. We ate and hurried back to school where the ceremony had recently ended, groups of crazed students armed with cameras spilling onto the streets.  I don’t know, I thoguht that because I hadn’t seen them since October that I’d fallen off their radar but I was very wrong. Students screeched my name and demanded I pose in pictures for their parents to take; the confused parents obliged. I told students I was proud of them and met their brothers and sisters. Now, what’s interesting is that the pictures I took are all of students who NEVER spoke in class but practically yelled conversations at me outside of school.

These girls loved their make up and yelling out my name in class randomly

The second girl from the left is "Monster" from one of my first posts; she looks so sweet here!

The outer two always were nice and got someone else to talk to me for them, the middle girl always has something to say - I'll probably never forget her.

 According to some really old graduating tradtion that I don’t yet fully understand, boys play a trick on each other that involves flour (all over the body) and eggs (usually in the hair).

He kept closing his eyes during the picture so I said "OPEN EYES PLEASE"

 

 

All in all, a slow but good day. I’ll miss those plucky 3rd graders and wish them the best in the next three years of peer-pressure and 20 hour-a-day studying hell that is Korean high school

One Comment leave one →
  1. Angel Cartagena permalink
    February 18, 2010 5:42 pm

    I’m proud of you Kristin. You are touching lives in a positive way and these students will be better individuals because you poured into their lives.

    I’m praying for you daily Sweetheart. We miss you but know that you are exactly where God wants you to be. Be encouraged and turn to the Lord at all times.

    Love,

    Angel

Leave a Reply

