Skip to content

Hello Rhyming Mishaps!

February 3, 2010

So, I altered a drinking card game, Kings, to play with the students for this week. The students had lots of energy after the long vacation and were eager to play even if it meant practicing their question forming skills to get points. Anyway, the 9 card meant rhyme. Instead of trying to get students to rhyme with sentences, I just chose a word and gave a point to each team that came up with a rhyme.

This turned out to be much harder than I had anticipated.

Me: Ok guys, the word that you must rhyme with is…”me”

Student 1: GEE!

Me: …sure, why not.

Student 2: Do, Re, MI!!

Me: Well, yes

Student 3: Many!

Student 4: SHE!

Student 5: Orange!

I didn’t give Student 5 the point but readers should know that the Konglish pronunciation of the word “orange” does in fact rhyme with “me”. Everyone here says “Orangee” or “orangees” along with “spongee” and “cringee”. My students also had major problems rhyming with “like” (generating answers like “bake” and “park”) but the orange one just tickled me.

I think it reminds me of that Simpsons episode where Bart and Nelson race a apple and orange (“Go apple! Go orange!”) down the schoolbus and Ralph attempts to roll a banana (Go banana!) The effort is both appreciated and entertaining.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

