Skip to content

Hello Seoul Grand Park Zoo!

November 13, 2009

I went to the Seoul Grand Park Zoo on my day off. I was worried that all the animals would be hiding or sleeping with the weather getting so chilly but I’ve been desperate to go for awhile so I figured I’d just miss out. Unlike the Baltimore or DC (National) Zoo, all the animals were out and about so I had a good time. Pros and Cons of the zoo though…

Pro: I got to see all of the animals.

Con: They pretty much had no where to hide. The way the zoo was constructed, the animals didn’t really have shelter from the elements and were there solely to entertain me.

DSCN1118

Pro: The animal nursery. It’s just about the cutest thing I’ve ever seen. There were baby coyotes, three kinds of baby monkeys and a three youngish lions. Everything was fluffy and acting adorably.

DSCN1190

Con: All the animals looked like they wanted to escape. It was kind of depressing. Here, the tiger and bear contemplate jumping the concrete barrier to freedom 20 feet away.

DSCN1186 DSCN1177

Pro: The place was huge, with every kind of animal. It’s probably three or four times larger than the DC zoo and everything seems up hill. Sounds like a con but the zoo is in between some beautiful mountains and the scenery is lovely with the leaves turning. I got a pretty decent work out by the end of the trek around the area.

Con: I went to see the owl house, but encountered this.

DSCN1243

Make no mistake, I went to the insectarium afterwards…I don’t have a huge problem with bugs but this was too much. The giant spiders in the doorway have red, glowing, bejeweled eyes and I felt like I couldn’t escape their stares. *cringe*

All in all a good time, I would go back in the springtime and visit more baby animals, maybe see the dolphin show and pay a visit to the rose garden next door.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Cheree permalink
    November 14, 2009 5:10 am

    Why are there soooooo many spider entries in your blog? I wanted to come visit you there- perhaps in the spring but obviously there is some sort of spider extravaganza going on. I wish I hadn’t seen this pic right before going to bed. Hello Anachraphobia therapist! Egad!

    • aukissed permalink*
      November 17, 2009 4:11 am

      You know my horror fascination with spiders. I just can’t away from them.

      But definitely visit, from what I understand the spiders only stay outside and don’t really venture indoors. And I should mention that the green don’t really move at all (thank GOD). Anyway spring would be nice since the weather will be better – I think Matt’s family is thinking about coming around that time. We can get our feet eaten by Doctor Fish, buy cheap everything, and eat galbi til the sun comes up.

  2. Tim and Karen permalink
    November 16, 2009 12:05 am

    Hi, Kristin.

    Amy forwarded us the address to your blog. Karen and I have been enjoying your entries. You seem to really enjoy Korea and teaching. Hope you and Matt have a great Thanksgiving. We miss you both.

    Tim and Karen

    • aukissed permalink*
      November 17, 2009 7:40 am

      I’m very happy to know you’re both reading it. I’m trying to update it fairly often so family members won’t worry; maybe Matt’ll post more…

Leave a Reply

