Skip to content

Hello Dinner Party!

November 7, 2009

We become our parents. I’ve known this for a long time and have seen it in action but with the many parental influences in my life sometimes it’s difficult to tell just where certain habits and tendencies originate. And other times, well…it’s not. I love being a hostess and putting together fabulous dinner parties, making sure every little part is perfect from the food to the atmosphere – I know I get that from my stepmom, Wendy.

So, I spent the week stressing and prepping for a small get together with two co-teachers who really wanted to see my apartment. I bought dishware, all kinds of groceries, wine, and fresh flowers. Being without a table, I fashioned one from parts of my desk, a bed sheet and my suitcases…it sounds crude but the result was everything I could’ve hoped for. Thursday night, I bought salad and ingredients, made a meat sauce for pasta, pesto for gnocchi, and made the gnocchi. Then there was obsessive amounts of cleaning, organizing, freezing and containering. By Friday, I was pretty much a nervous wreck worrying about the timing of everything and planning for the first graders that starts on Monday.

Of course, everything went swimmingly – Joey and second grade co-teacher, Yu Hyun, came over bearing house warming gifts. Matt joined us a bit later with cookies and bread from Paris Baguette. We ate and drank and predictably talked about students and education. I was so happy to see it all come together and I’m getting excited for the next dinner party that will inevitably come up around Thanksgiving time.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Joey permalink
    November 8, 2009 7:39 am

    What a fantastic dinner party it was!
    Yu Hyun and I were so pleased to be invited and treated so well.
    Thank you again.

    • aukissed permalink*
      November 8, 2009 8:29 am

      I’m so glad! I hope we can do it again at some point.

Leave a Reply

