Skip to content

Hello Pepero Pressure

November 5, 2009

“November 11th! You give it to me!”

Me: What.

“You give me Pepero! PEPERO DAY, Kristin!”

Me: What are you talking about? What is a Pepero?

“NOVEMBER 11TH KRISTIN YOU GIVE ME PEPERO

Me: Uhhh…

pepero

So Pepero Day is the equivalent of Valentine’s Day here I guess. After that compelling dialogue with a student I was told by a calmer, less crazy student that it’s November 11th because the pepero sticks, little cookie treats covered in chocolate or something, look like 11/11. After I got this call to action by my students I started noticing the boxes and cases and containers of the treats being sold pretty much everywhere.  Wow, never was the invention of a holiday by a corporation so blatantly obvious.

My students are expecting this treat from me on this day but I’m not gunna do it. I was happy to give out Halloween treats because it was the lesson of the week and it’s the bit of my culture I can share with them. Going out of my way to indulge them in part of a holiday ritual I don’t even understand seems a bit much. I, however, expect some pepero sticks and maybe some education on all this.

“The Pepero are so delicious, Kristin!”

Me: Okay, you can bring me some to try!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Cheree permalink
    November 6, 2009 4:15 am

    Los peperos son muy bonitos!! Great pic!

    • aukissed permalink*
      November 8, 2009 8:28 am

      Many more pics to come – seems like my area is flooded with promotions and gift sets for peperos.

  2. Julie permalink
    November 7, 2009 12:15 am

    I NEED to see pics of Halloween costumes!!!! You’re killin’ me.

    • aukissed permalink*
      November 8, 2009 8:28 am

      I posted some pics in the Halloween(uh) post – I think you’ll be underwhelmed.

Leave a Reply

