Skip to content

Hello Halloween(uh)

October 29, 2009

I would do another year of teaching JUST to teach Halloween again. I mean it.

I already love Halloween – I don’t think I’ve missed a single one; I’ve always decorated to an extreme, worn a costume of SOME sort, and/or given out candy. So, decorating my office with pumpkins and ghosts, creating lesson plans around Nightmare Before Christmas songs and dressing up today were all terribly satisfying, especially so because my efforts were received so well.

I had a hard time making a plan for my beginner conversation class since they can barely understand anything I’m saying. I ended up with a worksheet with a box for Halloween words they heard and saw in “This Is Halloween!” (one of my favorite songs) and a space for them to draw important vocabulary words and translate them into Korean. I was able to find the song on youtube with the lyrics and the clip from the movie – the result was something to behold.

The first time it played, my students were dead silent – this is rare as they usually try to chat or squirm around during video clips – and they were all watching intently, actually reading the lyrics, and at the end, they begged me to play it again. I did and they wrote down a bunch of words that they saw. We talked about the words and the characters afterwards and defined all the strange terms (“eyes glowing red” and “die of fright”) Surprisingly, my beginners picked up all the words and we were able to differentiate between “scary” and “scared”, a concept my advanced third graders struggle with.

Even more astounding, the song taught them stuff I didn’t even pick up on – like “spiders in my hair”, “Don’t we love it now” and “That’s just fine”.  I’m so proud of them!

With the onslaught of holidays coming, I think I have fodder for plenty of similar lessons hopefully with similar results* – I’ve never been prouder to be a teacher!

*Yes, I will be using Nightmare Before Christmas songs for Christmas time, too.

 

Update: Pics of my costume

DSCN1090 DSCN1093

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie permalink
    October 30, 2009 3:54 am

    I need to see a picture of your costume!!!! Have you eaten all of the candy corn yet? I have Girl Scout cookies — yum!

  2. Cheree permalink
    November 3, 2009 1:51 am

    You are simply so darned creative! Congratulations on the great idea!!

    ….don’t like the spiders in my hair…….

  3. Cheree permalink
    November 3, 2009 2:08 am

    I just watched the YouTube video. It’s pretty scary!! Your students were scared!!? Unbelievable!! Did they dress up for the occasion? I hope that there is a blog of Korean Halloween – if there is such a thing!

    • aukissed permalink*
      November 8, 2009 8:20 am

      Naw, they can handle a lot. Actually all my kids talk about is murder, killing and violence so I wasn’t worried about the lesson. I wish they’d dress up but the uniform code is so strict. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

