Skip to content

Hello Dr. Fish!

October 23, 2009

Yesterday, I went with a group of second graders on a field trip to a nearby park. Supposedly, the students were assigned to clean up the park, contributing some required amount of community service hours but the place was immaculate so it just ended up with me talking to students about how pigeons are basically rats and whatever else came up.

Here they are working hard to service the community:

DSCN1046

The field trip ended before noon and I had the rest of the day to run errands – running to SMOE to change my contract and to my bank to pay about 14 dollars worth of utilities. Annnnnnd apparently to get my feet eaten by tiny fish in a cafe.

Before I came to Seoul, I found some information on the tiny fish called Doctor Fish that eat away the dead skin on your feet. Being somewhat fascinated with fish, I made sure to recruit people to try it out. Now after many weeks, my friend Stacy finally set the date and off we went with Matt and two other NSETs, Grace and Stephanie. Pics of the action:

DSCN1055

DSCN1057

Aren’t they cute? Grace said they have little nom-nom mouths. I have no idea what that means but it’s somehow true. Anyway, my feet felt fantastic after I was able to get over the tickling sensation that is hundreds of toothless mouths sucking and pulling out my dead skin.

I hear there’s one of these fish places in Northern Virginia, so I highly recommend it for all my friends back home.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cheree permalink
    October 25, 2009 4:35 pm

    hmmmm. so do like people put their faces underwater for facials? What about whole bodies? ….. I can see where this could go awry without mature, knowledgeable supervision and punitive repercussions for misuse. I’ve gotta stop watching and reading the local news again. I’m so tainted.

    • aukissed permalink*
      October 29, 2009 11:44 pm

      I heard that you can submerge your body in Thailand. Also, I hear there’s a kind of Doctor Fish with teeth…so you don’t really know what’ you’re getting til you get there.

      I think the face is kind of a big risk what with all the orafices and what not. That being said, I’m a thousand percent sure you can get it done somewhere in Asia.

Leave a Reply

