Skip to content

Hello Strange, New Pizza

October 21, 2009
tags: ,

In a way, I do secretly like being force-fed at work. Being unable to say no, I have to try some foods that I wouldn’t pick out on my own and I pretty much have to eat all of whatever it is.

About every other day there’s some food brought in for all of the teachers. It’s usually a yogurt drink, some fruit, dok (a nutty rice thing) or a health drink. Every once and awhile there’s pizza, usually sweet potato flavored. Today, there was a pizza that may have had the equivalent of Thanksgiving dinner on it. There was no tomato sauce, as one might expect but there were the following:

  • Corn
  • Potatoes, both regular and sweet
  • Ham
  • Pepperoni
  • Green Peppers
  • String beans (??)
  • A Korean green vegetable I can’t ID
  • Crusts stuffed with cheese and sweet potato paste

It tastes fine of course but my stomach wants to cry. And …I guess what ever it is that makes the other teachers think I consume my weight in food every day to live, something compelled the staff to give me two slices just heaping with toppings. I’m willing to bet it’s me being American that justfies the force feeding here and I certainly feel like I should be eating more but I just can’t. In fact, I’m starting to think that Koreans here eat twice what I do – I have no idea how.  However, I have noted that I drink easily five or six times more water than the rest of the staff.  Maybe I’m supposed to be helping myself to more side dishes than four more cups of water. Back to the pizza though…

So, yeah while this pizza is delicious I feel like I don’t have to eat again til this time next week. Ughhh…I need some water.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

