Skip to content

Hello Creativity!

October 20, 2009

Whenever I assign writing homework I ask the students to be creative and interesting because I don’t want to be bored. Here are a few gems from my third graders’ work. The parts in bold are the worksheet questions.

There is a giant spider on your bed! What are you going to do?

“Maybe I’ll play with him all night long”

“I’ll probably say ‘Let’s play with me.'”

“Maybe I’ll keep that and I’ll love it”

“Maybe I’ll change my bed and buy a NO SPIDER BED”

“I probably won’t kiss its ass”   ???

“I probably won’t catch on a hand!”

“Maybe I’ll obey him”

“Maybe I’ll use a sword”

“I probably won’t keep moving”

“Maybe I’ll kill the spider and call the police”

“I’ll probably call CESCO, the bug killing company!”

“I’ll probably call Spiderman.”   Which makes more sense than… “Maybe I’ll be the spiderman”

“I’ll probably say “I’m sorry to disturb your sleeping” and go out”

“Maybe I’ll pretend to die.”

A bunch of students in one class cheated off the same bizarre answer…so I have about 20 or so papers with this answer:

“I probably won’t spider not pumping the spider web”     Even my Korean co-teacher had no idea what this meant.

We just won a trip around the world. What are we going to do?

“I probably will not go to China because they are dirty”

“I’ll probably be famous because of a story of my experiences.”   Aww!

“Maybe I’ll find a key of mystery around the world”

“I probably will not kill the man”  What man?

Your friend just broke his arm! What are you going to do?

“Maybe I’ll break his leg.”

“I’ll probably break the other arm to make it even.” Wow.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

