Skip to content

Hello Jeonju!

September 28, 2009

Today was pretty low-key so I thought I’d post about my trip to Jeonju over the weekend. Through his recruiter, Work n’ Play, Chris was able to get us to the quaint town of Jeonju, an area famous for wonderful food, traditional houses, and production of hanji (a kind of paper used to make just about everything). The deal was amazing; $26 got me a round trip bus ticket, a room in a traditional style house with tv and cable, four meals, a musical performance, arts n’ crafts time, a hanbok wearing and bowing instruction class and perhaps a few too many tour guides.

We arrived around lunchtime on Saturday and, along with maybe 40 other participants, were funneled into a courtyard to prepare bibimbap from scratch with the help of a head chef, a translator, and a handful of Korean volunteers.

DSCN0645

What fun…in small groups we took turns chopping up stuff, cooking it with garlic and salt and placing it in the bowl so it could look like this:

DSCN0646 It was promptly destroyed after I took this picture. It was quite delicious and we had tons left over; an effect that seemed to be the theme of the trip. After settling in a bit with our food, we went to a liquor museum then a palace/park/garden area. The temperature climbed ever higher as we seemingly got further away from the shade of the buildings…and when we finally did return to the indoors, it was time to try on traditional Korean garments called hanbok.

There are pictures of me wearing it but I’m not a huge fan of any of them so here are other people who managed to pull it off.

DSCN0685It was kind of silly to put on but a very fun experience, I even learned how to bow like a proper Korean woman. Even better than dressing in hanbok, there was a musical performance by small groups of musicians wearing hanbok.

DSCN0726 I can’t remember the names of the instruments or even the names of the songs, it was all terribly beautiful and felt very authentic. I’m going to try an upload some video clips I took but don’t hold your breath…I have no idea how to make them work. At the end of the night, we grabbed some treats and old school style liquor and went to bed…at least I did cause my allergy drugs were wearing me out. In the tiny room, on the hard wooden floor, amongst a myriad of mosquitos and goodness knows what else, I slept like a baby.

All Sunday it was raining. The upside? I didn’t feel like I was on the inside of a Hot Pocket all day, basting in my own sweat. Sunday was much nicer: we made paper fans, wandered around to take pics, ate a gigantic lunch, made our way to a calligraphy museum and headed back home. Here are some more photos:

DSCN0756 DSCN0763

DSCN0792

DSCN0805

All in all a great time. I have more photos on my flickr page under “Jeonju” including one of a wicked looking spider…a good photo mind you but I thought it’d be nicer to spare my moms the sight.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie permalink
    September 28, 2009 10:50 pm

    Sounds like a great trip! Start thinking about cool places for us to go when I visit!!!

    • aukissed permalink*
      October 3, 2009 2:38 pm

      Of course. I still haven’t seen one of those foot-eating fish places but I’m determined to make it happen.

Leave a Reply

