Skip to content

Hello <3!

September 25, 2009

I know I’ve been sick and all but I don’t really think I’ve gotten across just how much I love it here. Walking home, I thought about just how much I love this job and how great I feel doing it. What inspired these lovely feelings?

I just got home from grocery shopping and am currently chowing down on my dinner. Dippin Dots. Yes, Dippin Dots for dinner…I don’t feel bad cause I’m sick and Dippin Dots are one of those foods I’m constantly pining for at carnivals and amusement parks. I bought them at the store for half the cost of amusement store prices. MMM

Before that, I finished up my Friday intermediate conversation class. There are about 7 students (plus one who’s always late by about an hour) and they all have a pretty good grasp of English. Today we talked about the meaning of song lyrics then watched the music videos. We wrapped up a little early so I found myself talking to a student about Warcraft…it was pretty in depth. I learned that he’s a dedicated Horde member (I’m an ally) and we got into details of our characters. Some of the female students expressed a desire to visit my home, just hang out and talk about boys  Awww guys. Visit me at home?…I feel so loved. I love talking to my students after or before class, they give me pure joy by way of abnormally personal or offensive questions and fun slang usage. For example, today one of my male students told a girl “F— You!!” and I stopped him saying that the words were really hurtful and wrong so he thought on it for awhile and said “OH OH OH, F— Her” I couldn’t help but laugh.

What else was good about today? Oh, yes. Every teacher I ran into asked how my doctor’s visit went yesterday and one even brought in some Bee Propolis for my throat. I’ve mentioned to teachers before that they worry so much about me and the general response is that they care because they know my mother worries about me being alone in a foreign country and they don’t want her to worry about me. Wow. Seriously, my worst problem at this school is that everyone is constantly pressuring me to eat more food and to eat more often. I’m not making this up. Eating at the cafeteria, I’ve had teachers put food on my plate, tell me flat out to eat more and ask why I am not eating more. Sometimes at my desk, teachers will visit me with various snacks and wait until I finish it before leaving. It’s unusual but how can I complain when the food (90% of the time) is delicious?

So many other fantastic things have happened that endear me to my job and my new life but I feel like I’m just boasting at this point. Anyway, I gotta go take my medicine with another round of icecream.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy and Julie permalink
    September 26, 2009 3:15 pm

    This is such a nice post! We (not exactly your mother, but close) do worry about you being alone in a foreign country and very much appreciate everyone taking care of you!

    Also, we have a new word game obsession we think you will like- http://www.wordsandwich.com.

    xoxo

    • aukissed permalink*
      September 27, 2009 11:44 pm

      I tried explaining to my co-teachers about my multiple mothers situation but it may have come off that I was raised in a lesbian co-op or something. Anyway, I feel the love here.

      Wow, that game is too addictive. Maybe I can get my students addicted too.

  2. Danni permalink
    October 2, 2009 5:30 am

    Awww, that’s how Asians show you they love you, they feed you until you BURST!

    But be forewarned– you will eat and you will feel loved and full and sated…and then you will feel like an enormous hog because they tell you that you’ve gotten too fat (in the most obtuse, roundabout way possible). Meanwhile, they will continue to feed you unabated because even though you are now fat and repulsive, they still love you!

    It’s one of the great mysteries in my own life and I am glad to now share this East Asian enigma with you.

    • aukissed permalink*
      October 3, 2009 2:36 pm

      Wow, I’m not sure what exactly to make of all that but I’ll continue eating to keep the smiles on everyone’s faces; I’ve learned that it
      s uncommon to say the word “no” here and it’s easier to just give in rather than find the language to get around it. Also, I’ve somehow managed to lose weight since I’ve been here but I’m somewhat willing to attribute that to the hourly assault from the mosquitos that I’m enduring here. I showed Matt my bump riddled arm this morning and he recoiled in horror.

Leave a Reply

