Skip to content

Hello Medicaments?

September 15, 2009

The french word for “medicine”…I just like to say it but I really find myself asking “Mwoh yay yoh” (What is it?) these days.

I’m coming down with something awful. No, it isn’t swine flu…I don’t have a fever or a runny nose or body aches or explosive diarrhea. Hmm…or headaches or fatigue or a sore throat. In fact, the only symptom I have is a heavy feeling in my chest and occasionally coughing up some opaque, sinister looking mucus. It doesn’t hurt…nothing hurts, actually, it just feels odd and unnatural because there’s a lot of stuff churning in my lungs. My first thought is sinus infection but my sinuses are fine and I haven’t even been dripping.

I honestly have no idea what’s going on but decided the way to go is antibiotics. Now, please try to imagine my situation; I am sick, I don’t look sick, I don’t know the Korean words for “antibiotic”, “mucus”, “cough” or “sinus infection” and I’m in a country full of people hypersensitve to even the smallest sniffle. I’ve tried to tell me co-teacher the issue but really have only succeeded in having the whole staff turned upside down for the sake of my health. Great. The school nurse gave me a gigantic kelly green pill and something that looks like the cross between a Froot Loop and a Lifesaver mint.

“Take every four hours”

That sounds about right – I mean, what’s the worst that could happen? (Please don’t answer that question)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jean permalink
    September 16, 2009 2:23 am

    Please take care. Have your lungs checked for sounds.(pneumonia)
    Hope you feel better soon!

    • aukissed permalink*
      September 16, 2009 11:48 pm

      Seems like it’s a very typical thing to happen when foreigners first get here. A few friends of mine are suffering as well. It seems to be clearing up with the medicine I received, plenty of hot showers, and low key evenings.

      I really hope I get better before the weekend!

  2. Angel Cartagena permalink
    September 16, 2009 8:22 pm

    Kristin:

    I just prayed for you. Please see a doctor so we can be sure your lungs are clear. Am I sounding like a mother hen? Yes.

    But it’s because I care. 🙂

    God bless you Sweetheart. I’ll keep praying.

    Angel

    • aukissed permalink*
      September 17, 2009 12:50 am

      Nah, that’s ok…I don’t mind the caring. It makes me feel loved!

      Some of my co-teachers are praying for my health as well and I know I’m getting better. Hopefully there’ll be less to worry about soon!

  3. Tanya permalink
    September 21, 2009 2:26 am

    While indeed I am worried about your health…but must you be so graphic with symptoms that you DON’T have? YUCK! TMI…TMI!!! Glad you’re feeling better though. Still loving the blog. I’ll just make sure NOT to read it during breakfast.

    • aukissed permalink*
      September 21, 2009 3:36 am

      Yeah I o\like to keep it real, as you know. I don’t want anyone to say I left any details out!

Leave a Reply

