Skip to content

Hello!….Hello?

September 10, 2009

Recently, I gave my students access to this blog…I showed it to them in class and they thought it was funny that I pretty much keep track of everything I do online. I know that a few students read it daily and I have a few questions for them.

Why is it, my dear students, that the five minutes before class you’re assaulting me with questions and facts and statements in English BUT after the bell rings, I can’t get a single word?  And it seems like the loudest and boldest of you before class are the quietest during class. The loud ones stop me in the hallway to ask about “YOU BOYFRIEND-UH?”,  stop me outside to tell me about Korean music, stop me after class to tell me how tall I am. During the lesson, I ask “How old are you?” and suddenly you’re rendered deaf and mute. Instead of answering me, you try to hide behind your hands or look away. I can still see you!

Anyway, please speak in class because I have to grade you and the conversation we had about the perfect husband unfortunately won’t count towards your midterm grade.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Matt permalink
    September 11, 2009 2:29 am

    I want to know what she says about her boyfriend.

    😀

    • aukissed permalink*
      September 11, 2009 2:48 am

      Me: He is tall.
      Students: WHOOOOA
      Me: He has lots of curly hair
      Students: WHOOOOA
      Me: He is white!
      Students: WOW Handsome!

      • Matt permalink
        September 11, 2009 2:53 pm

        Those are three things you could say about me!

      • aukissed permalink*
        September 11, 2009 10:27 pm

        I hate to say, but most questions about anyone I know are based on appearance. I don’t even bother explaining personality traits anymore since no one seems to care.

  2. Jean permalink
    September 11, 2009 12:27 pm

    Your blog is Great! I’m teaching again and really enjoying the
    children. I know you will be a good teacher,

    • aukissed permalink*
      September 11, 2009 10:26 pm

      I can really understand the appeal of a teaching career. The effects of a lesson become pretty obvious when the students shout the new words at me hours later in the hallway….and my opinion is so valued here so I feel special.

      I hope to see your teaching blog soon!!

  3. Cheree permalink
    September 12, 2009 9:24 pm

    Yeesh! You’re tough! So convo in the hallway ain’t worth any points? Is it considered uncool to be an active participant in class?

    • aukissed permalink*
      September 13, 2009 2:34 am

      Yeah…it’s only cause I want them to practice the lesson I work so hard to prepare…and which will be tested in about a week.

      The students are generally shy in front of their peers when it comes to any subject but I’ve found that since I’ve started giving out “+1” points on their worksheets, the talking has increased dramatically.

Leave a Reply

