Skip to content

Hello Learning Curve!

September 8, 2009

I feel sorry for my first 3rd grade class in 3-4, they get the first try of my new lesson plan for the week and often it is just a little too difficult.

My lesson this week was talking about the news using “Ive heard of” and “It’s fantastic/terrible that”. I thought that I could get the kids talking about current events but I was sorely mistaken. I learned that my sleepy first class could not care less about Swine Flu or Namdaemun, a historic monument.  By the second class, I learned that topics such as “Super Junior”, “Girls Generation” and “lunchtime” are the most exciting. Typing it out now, I guess it’s fairly obvious that students would rather talk about music and recess than the actual news.

Whatever, at least at this point, I can get honest opinions from each student and, more importantly, full sentences. The day I can get a full sentence out of a student without constant prompting will be a great day indeed.

Update:

Same lesson in my last class but the class was much rowdier and for the first time, I had to get “mean”. I started marking the worksheets of particularly disruptive students, taking coveted points away from their conversation lesson grades. It worked ok, but I would have been happier not to have done it at all.

On the bright side, my co-teachers told me that my lessons are getting better everyday and that I’m becoming a great teacher because I get the students to speak individually. Whew. I was a bit worried because it seems like all the students want to talk about is Girls Generation (a Korean band of sexy singers) or Star/Warcraft (both very popular games here. Note the presence of Warcraft of the Internet cafe here:

DSCN0511There’s actually a long list of RPG games you can play there…it’s pretty cheap, too.

Anyhow, I’m not sure what was going on today but all of my students were all over the place. Walking into class, I’ve seen students punching each other, arm wrestling, throwing bags full of water out the window, and generally being mischievous.

DSCN0510

I’m convinced that the learning curve to some teachers might be another name for the giant, discipline stick they carry around. Ah, well.

Tomorrow will be better, it HAS to be.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Matt permalink
    September 8, 2009 7:06 pm

    Tomorrow will be great. I love you so much.

    • aukissed permalink*
      September 8, 2009 11:35 pm

      Yeah, I started it off with a stomachache from the awful beer I had last night. It’s bound to pick up though.

  2. Angel Cartagena permalink
    September 9, 2009 9:17 pm

    I’m amazed that students in Korea are just as detached from the news as students here.

    Don’t be discouraged. I taught 7-12 graders in New York City and the challenges you are now facing have been faced by new teachers for years. Your willingness to be flexible is a great asset. The great teachers know that teaching means meeting our students at the place where they are. I use to teach my 11-12 graders law by using examples that included Madonna, Prince, and Charlie Sheen (all culturally relevant in the early ’90’s). I have faith in you and know you’re going to do a great job.

    God bless you and keep you. You are in my thoughts and prayers. Take care of yourself.

    Angel

Leave a Reply

