Skip to content

Hello Coex!

September 6, 2009

Yesterday I met with some other foreigners to go to the Kimchi museum at the Coex Center in Samseong. The place is just ginormous.

DSCN0506It’s gigantic mall with an aquarium and a ten story department store. I’ll let my photos do the talking.

DSCN0495

Kimchi museum!

Yes, kimchi please

Yes, kimchi please

So there’s over 100 kinds of kimchi in Korea and maybe I’ve had 10 since I’ve been here. There was a fun display with all kinds of info on the history of kimchi, making kimchi, and all the variations. What was a bit unsettling was seeing a microscope in the museum…and worse, some live footage of the millions of bacteria living in kimchi I guess to help kimchi fight swine flu and cancer. They were squirming all around and procreating, I felt a little nauseous.

Rachael looks over some fermented foods.

Rachael looks over some fermented foods.

Various kinds of kimchi under glass

Various kinds of kimchi under glass

Then we moved on and saw some cool stuff.

Terrifying

Terrifying

Crepe Machine!!!

Crepe Machine!!!

Um, ok.

Um, ok.

It was fun…I definitely spent a little too much money on food and shopping but it was a great time. We made it outside and walked around in the oppressive heat for awhile…it was pretty.

DSCN0501

DSCN0502

Yeah you can almost see the heat (it's actually pollution)

Good times. Then Chris visited me in Gangseo where we went to the 1K won store and a nifty restaurant. At the restaurant, we had our first taste of soju, a liquor made from sweet potatoes. Nasty but better than most hard liquors and certainly much cheaper. Then we saw this engrish gem:

DSCN0509

Um, what?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2009 5:06 am

    Looks like you had a ton of fun. 🙂 I’m a friend of Danielle G.’s, and she recommended your blog as I just started teaching in Korea too. I posted a link to you at my blog – hope that’s okay!

    • aukissed permalink*
      September 9, 2009 11:28 pm

      Everyday is a new adventure for sure. And any friend of Danielle’s is a friend of mine…I will definitely link to your blog, too!

Leave a Reply

