Skip to content

Hello Itaewon!

September 4, 2009

First, I had class with my second graders:

My cheeky, self proclaimed "princess" students

My cheeky, self proclaimed "princess" students

Some students are very very shy...most students actually

Some students are very very shy...most students actually

Nothing eventful took place during the day. Once I got to Itaewon however, things got mighty interesting. I met with Stacy and Chris for dinner..we wandered until we found a French Moroccan restaurant. the food was ok but the place itself was lovely with a bit of a view.

Stacy grinning

Stacy grinning

I should explain that Itaewon is an area that foreigners like myself can flock to to find Western brands, foods, fashions and friends. Just about everyone in the area speaks English and there are clubs, bars and karaoke to cater to our kind. Anyway, we hung out and met some interesting characters. One such character was this man:

DSCN0469He just bought some pet fish off the street for about $8 and, for whatever reason, decided to tell me that he was going to the bar to hang out with the fish and then take them around the city. He also had an armful of Parliament cigarettes and seemed to be pressed for time – the word crazy comes immediately to mind but I think he was just one of those random people who does random things all the time. Moving on, we eventually found a really neat bar called the Bungalow:

There were swings instead of chairs

There were swings instead of chairs

You can’t see, but there’s fine sands on the floor and island themed drinks in our hands. We met up with some other SMOE people and had a great time.

DSCN0475

So much fun, in fact, that I suggested to Chris that we ought to go again. In so many words, he basically told me no. In so many hateful, judgmental words. Yeah yeah…I get what he means though; Itaewon’s ok but it’s not all that and a lot of it smells like garbage….garbagey vomit even.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

