Skip to content

Hello 선생님!

September 3, 2009

조선생님 looks on...

조선생님 looks on...

Seon-syang-nim. It means teacher.

I hear it a lot because that’s what everyone calls all the other teachers…not including me. I am just “teacher”, as in “Hello teacher!” “How are you, teacher?” and so on. I’m learning A LOT of Korean everyday thanks to my co-teachers; I knew I learned something useful when I was able to ask where to find trashbags today in Korean. I can also ask for chopsticks and call things cute. However useful that seems, I was not able to find trashbags even after going where everyone told me to go. It would seem there is one trashbag in Gangseo and I’m not meant to ever find it. Sigh. But I digress.

So today, I got the star treatment from my school’s newpaper club – a formal interview that pretty much covered my personal preferences for men and my background and some kind of delicious bread treat. Here’s the newpaper club…one girl tried to hide but I caught her.

DSCN0440

DSCN0441

On that note, I got a little bold today and started telling students that if they make a huge effort to hide from me during class, I will definitely call on them for answers. Afterward, I felt like I was a little too cruel; that was until I saw a student getting chewed out in the teacher’s room….FYI corporeal punishment is legal in public schools. So maybe my tough love isn’t all that bad.

Anyway, after the interview, all the English co-teachers took me and another new co-teacher to dinner at Outback Steakhouse. I got to learn more Korean and exchange some ideas about Korea with the teachers. The food was amazing and the company even better.

DSCN0459DSCN0457

Good day and I have enough energy for a hot shower! Whew!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

