Skip to content

Hello Long Day!

September 2, 2009

I was sleepy getting up today and I’m exhausted now.

I taught more 3rd graders today the same lesson from yesterday but this time with worksheets. My celebrity status died down a bit or rather enough for me to teach class without too much fanfare. But the yesterday’s antics seems to have made my students bolder; they get very close to me (in my bubble as it were) and feel the need to shout into my face. I get more questions about “have boyfriend in Korea. No? I’m hannsum!” and awkward phrases such as “I love you!” and “I want you” Of course, I just laugh nervously, nod my head and move forward cause hey, they’re speaking English.

The boys were really happy to be in a picture for me…the girls usually shy away but I managed to get three to pose for me.

DSCN0434

The boys called the girl on the left "Monster"...I think because she beats them up.

The boys called the girl on the left "Monster"...I think because she beats them up.

At the end of each class I try to get the students to teach me some Korean…they really enjoy being my teacher and it kind of tricks them into speaking English. Good times:

DSCN0429 DSCN0430

After school, my co-teacher, Joey, rushed me to the bank so I could set up an account before it closed for the day. The process was tedious but fruitful; I walked away with an ATM card and little booklet with my account information. After the bank trip, Joey took me H-Mart to buy me some appliances…a cute little rice cooker and a cute coffee maker. CUTE. THEN, we walked to E-Mart to get some groceries. I’m extremely thankful that she came with me or some very bad choices would have been made. After THAT, Joey takes me out to dinner. Oddly enough, as I spent most of the time learning Korean words from her, I cannot remember the name of the food we had. It was delicious…

DSCN0435 DSCN0436

…but it was soon 8 PM and I found myself too tired to eat. While Joey and I were discussing students, we both found out that we are very tired whenever we aren’t teaching but very energetic while teaching. I said something that seemed very profound at the time, that we “give them all of our energy” That feels so true now, I feel so drained and I still have to finish my lesson for my 2nd graders….yawn.

P.S. There are live squid everywhere!

DSCN0420And yet, Korea will not let me keep one as a pet. Oh well.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cheree permalink
    September 7, 2009 4:01 pm

    Humph! Speaking English or not, the word “I-n-a-p-p-r-o-p-r-i-a-t-e” is a great English word to learn. Babies and toddlers are learning English (or a language too) but still learn manners in the process.

    Signed,
    MOM

    • aukissed permalink*
      September 8, 2009 3:59 am

      This is true…but it’s a different culture too. Everyone comments on appearance and it’s popular to talk about appearance and spend way too much time in front of the mirror. I think it’s their way of making me feel comfortable and sharing their opinions.

      I might wait on the culture lesson, maybe when they understand more of what I’m saying

Leave a Reply

