Skip to content

Hello Quaint Apartment!

August 31, 2009

I forgot to post these yesterday.

Here is my bed; my school admin bought me a very lovely, purple set

Here is my bed; my school admin bought me a very lovely, purple set

My bathroom with the toilet, sink, and showerhead all within two feet of each other. Also, giant mirrors - the single constant in every place I've been in Kore aso far.

My bathroom with the toilet, sink, and showerhead all within two feet of each other. Also, giant mirrors - the single constant in every place I've been in Kore aso far.

Every apartment has a special place for your shoes. I've also put my toiletries there as it's so close to my bathroom.

Every apartment has a special place for your shoes. To my younger readers: In Korea, it's generally considered rude to wear shoes in someone's home. I've also put my toiletries there as it's so close to my bathroom.

My desk and closet.

My desk and closet.

My mini kitchen...isn't it cute?

My mini kitchen...isn't it cute?

So, that’s pretty much it…there’s a mini laundry room behind my bathroom. I couldn’t figure out how my water heater works (although I did learn how to read the word bath) so, my wash up routine today consisted of heating up water in a pot on my stove to get some hot bathing water. Very old school, I’m sure. Regardless, I feel cute and clean and ready to pay a visit to my school in a few hours – did I mention that I don’t start til tomorrow? I think I did. Anyway, I’m going in to meet with Joey (not Joy, apparently) and seven other co-teachers, just because I can and have nothing better to do on my day off. Maybe I can even get a bank account set up.

Speaking of money, I’m finding it very difficult to part with my beloved won, they look like this:

Photo 18

Photo 14

Photo 22

It’s kinda of pretty right? Also, notice my compulsive knitting habit in the background there – I could barely stop knitting even to take a picture. Sad.

Anywho, I haven’t been able to access my home bank money so…my won are quite limited here. However, I feel it important to note that I’m saving for that reason and not because everything here is expensive. That 1,000 bill there is worth about 80 cents now and most small things – drinks, donuts, cups, snacks, meats on a stick – are about 1,000 won.Ā  And – mom I hope you’re reading this – there is an equivalent to a dollar store right next to my apartment. There’s so much stuff there that there are two floors to fulfill my thrifty shopping needs. I should be there right about now…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Angel Cartagena permalink
    September 1, 2009 1:16 am

    Love the apartment. It’s absolutely fabu! šŸ™‚

    I was so excited when Wendy told me she heard from you on Sunday. It really sounds like things are coming together.

    Ruben started classes at HCC last week and Jasmin starts school on Wednesday. I suspect church will be packed Sunday with everyone coming back from vacation.

    God bless you Sweetheart! Love the blog! šŸ™‚

    • aukissed permalink*
      September 1, 2009 11:50 pm

      Thanks! I really like my space and I have the means to keep it nice and Kristin-esque.

      I’m excited for your kids! How do they like the classes? A bunch I’m sure…the first days are always pretty exciting.

  2. Cheree permalink
    September 7, 2009 3:48 pm

    Hmmmm… a two floor dollar store right next door, eh? That fact in itself seems significant enough for a picture. Is it the same type of stuff that we have? Better, worse? Yarn??? A research comparison study on dollar stores world wide would be of interest to many I am sure. Remember the Euro store? I’d give it a rating of a 2 0r 3 at best.

    The apartment appears to be very efficient, mod and clean- great! Hope you have figured out the hot water thing! xoxox

    • aukissed permalink*
      September 8, 2009 4:03 am

      So turns out everything is under 5k won so it’s more like Five Below…still awesone though. I will take pics for you when I can as the place is just fantastic…much better than the Euro store.

      The hot water was fixed thank goodness. HOWEVER!!! My lock ran out of batteries and so I couldn’t get into my apartment last night. It was awful…I’ll make a post about it tonight.

Leave a Reply

