Skip to content

Hello Delicious Food!

August 24, 2009

Woke up bright and early to blog then walk around campus some…I didn’t know it then but I was about to embark on a remarkable journey of culinary marvels.

A bunch of other SMOE people and I made our way across campus; posing for and taking predictably campy and touristy photos the whole way:

Crunky Fish art

I have no idea what's going on here

I have no idea what's going on here

We also managed to eat tons of new food.  Kimchi, the national foodstuff of Korea, is quite prevalent and it has been served with every single meal which I kind of expected…and yet, I somehow can’t bring myself to down a side of pickled, spicy cabbage first thing in the morning. Honestly, my body already hates me for throwing the sleep schedule out of whack and eating all kinds of unidenfiable “salads” on the plane and the fact that kimchi looks about as alien as flaming red albino elephant skin can look does not help. It’s delicious, but I can only take so much the first day.

Or maybe I can handle more.

After downing one of the many, many brands of canned coffee available, a few friends and I made our way around campus noting a lovely garden, a strange assortment of caged animals and a driving range (??). Then it was time for lunch – the only thing I could identify on the menu was new kimchi (white) and old kimchi (flaming red), as the main course was something between a taco salad and a crepe salee – it was very good. On another venture through campus we stumbled into a convenience store  whereupon I made the greatest discovery of all dessert-kind. The corn popsicle.

cornpop

Of course, I was skeptical – I held a disdainful, monocled eye to that wrapper…garishly colored, covered in pictures of corn on the cob and kernels. But then I tried it. I don’t know if I’ll ever get any other popsicle again as it just won’t be worth my time; the corn popsicle was creamy, sweet and wonderful and I spent the rest of the day spreading the news, marketing the perfection of this bizarre new snack. I was met with quizzical stares and judgment but who cares…I’ve, at day one,  found something Korean that I will always cherish.

I will take pics of the foods at some point…I mean, it’s not like I won’t have ample opportunity.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Angel Cartagena permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:45 pm

    Kristin:

    So happy to hear you made it safe and sound. I thank God that you’re there and pray that each day will be a new source of blessings and delights.

    Looking forward to sharing this adventure via the blog. God bless you and keep you.

    Angel

    • aukissed permalink*
      August 25, 2009 10:29 pm

      I very sincerely thank for so much love and all of the blessings – I can’t imagine what this summer would have been like without meeting you! I very much hope you stay in touch throughout the year!

      • Angel Cartagena permalink
        August 26, 2009 1:16 am

        Are you kidding? I so intend to stay in touch, I added Seoul to my collection of world clocks in my iPhone clock app so I can keep up with your day. As I type this message, it’s 9:14pm here, while it’s 10:14am tomorrow where you are.

        So when do you get to see your students?

  2. Edward permalink
    August 24, 2009 8:48 pm

    Really glad you made it and are happy. Fun facts from Wikipedia on Kimchi:
    1>When taking photographs, South Koreans often will use the word “kimchi” in the same way as English speakers tend to use the word “cheese!”
    2>In 20th century U.S. slang, “kimchi” was occasionally used in the phrase “in deep kimchi” (particularly by veterans of the Korean War), a euphemism for “within deep trouble” and was used in a number of awkward situations.
    3>Kimchi is the name of an animated character on the children’s series Chowder (tv series). The creature is presumably the pet of the lead character, Chowder, as he resides in a bird cage next to his bed. Kimchi is a cloud of speechless gas with two eyes, he communicates via flatulent noises.
    Ummm…corn popsicle? I have to try it to believe it.

    • aukissed permalink*
      August 25, 2009 10:26 pm

      This is actually really fun information and I’m actually starting to understand the obsession. I mean…it’s really spicy, pickled cabbage and tastes exactly how you might imagine but for some reason I can’t turn it down…something about it is addictive and it feels overwhelmingly healthy to consume!

  3. Tanya permalink
    August 25, 2009 4:34 pm

    Yeah…corn popsicles…REALLY? I’m feeling you on the food front, it doesn’t look very appetizing. But I did always wonder what Koreans ate for breakfast…kimchi,eh? Yum? I’m really enjoying your blog. I’m glad you’re safe and all but I’m going to miss you over the holidays. Don’t they have a McD’s over there? Not that McD’s is any better than the unrecognizable food…

    • aukissed permalink*
      August 25, 2009 10:24 pm

      It’s good, trust me. It’s not overly sweet but has all the subtle tastes of sweet corn enhanced by sweet creamy milk popsicle. I could literally sell the stuff door to door, such is my confidence in its culinary perfection.

      Oh and they DO have McD’s here in a big way – they deliver to our campus by scooter. I took a picture of the guy on the McD scooter…he probably thought I was insane.

Leave a Reply

