Skip to content

Hello Fatigue!

August 23, 2009

I’m so very very tired but it’s ok because I’m safe and sound here. As I can barely string a sentence together I’ll just make this post a brief list of good/bad things and whatever I can recall from yesterday’s long ass trip.

Good: Got to the airport on time and got to say goodbye to Wendy, Matt and my mom.

Bad: My overweight luggage cost a whopping $300 (luckily mom paid for it)

Good: I somehow made it through BWI security on time to get to my flight and seated comfortably on the plane.

BADBADBAD: United Airways, due to a processing error, tore me from my seat and off the plane because someone entered my passport information incorrectly. I had to find a very expensive shuttle to Dulles and rush through security and the entire airport to make my flight with just minutes to spare.

Good: Got to LAX  where I met some people from SMOE and we talked during the flight. Some sleeping happened, some movie watching happened, I somehow taught myself to crochet circles, lots of stuff happened because it was a 12 hour flight. Also, Korean Air is just about the best airline I’ve encountered so far – the food was great, the service was impeccable and the bathrooms were classy.

After that we took a long, hot bus ride to a university campus where we were quickly put into dorm rooms. As we’re all in quarantine here, I have to keep record of my temperature everyday and turn in a sheet to my orientation manager people.

Some things I’ve noticed so far:

Sprite’s in a blue bottle and looks like Dasani from the outside

There’s a cookie product called “Mother’s Finger” that my roomie and I think is supposed to called be “Mother’s Touch” or “Lady Fingers”

For some reason, it struck me as odd being in Korea and not being able to read anything because it’s in KOREAN.

Korean people are very nice.

All in all, I’m tired but grateful to be here with really nice people.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gygi permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:13 pm

    TEST – hey girl! over and out!

    • aukissed permalink*
      August 25, 2009 10:30 pm

      Hey, I got your comment – awhile ago, I had to approve of all of the comments on the blog but since it’s not all that public they should just show up as soon as they are posted.

      I expect many a comment from you!!

Leave a Reply

