Skip to content

Hello, bureaucratic nightmare!

July 19, 2009

I’m not in Korea quite yet and, due to some rather pressing issues concerning time constraints, swine flu, and The North Korea Situation, I just might not get there. Regardless, I feel compelled to post some of the drama I’ve gone through just to get to this point.

As of 5:00 pm Friday, I sent off all of the documents needed to get the E-2 visa I need to teach by August 24th. Such documents include my contract with SMOE (Seoul Metropolitan Office of Education), a copy of my diploma, and an apostilled criminal background check. Now, most teachers already have their visas and are ready to go, so why am I JUST sending in mine?

Over a month ago, I made my way to the police station to get fingerprints for my background check (a necessity specific to Maryland documents); I got the prints along with Matt’s and was told to send in a check for $36 to cover both sets to CJIS. I should get my results in a week. No problem. I got my clean background check in a week with a spelling mistake on my name too glaring to submit to SMOE. I’m annoyed at this point but am used to it so I call in and explain the problem. Fax it in. I’m told. We’ll send you a fixed copy.

I fax it in….no response…I call in….We probably got it…I wait a week…

Matt never gets his. CJIS rewrote my check for a single document and just didn’t want to cover his. ANDANDAND when I look at the check online, I see that CJIS FORGED MY SIGNATURE. I’m pretty livid at this point because my recruiter is calling me wondering where my stuff is and neither Matt nor I have a viable document. Matt calls for me and faxes the document to Mr. Beverly. Nothing happens. Nothing happens when I call and am treated like a crazy person Ummmm we have the correct spellingin our system WHY WOULD I CALL YOU IF I HAD THE CORRECT SPELLING IN THE FIRST PLACE?! I am becoming incensed over this just recalling it.

Eventually, we managed to get an address out of somebody and go to Pikesville to pick up the corrected check. I get treated like a crazy nobody until I mention the forged check (my bank advised I file a police report over it). I got my background check instantly and Matt got his processed by the very next day. Crazy. I found out today that I got a refund for my jacked up check.

Anyone who’s heard my story about my passport knows why incidents such as this fill me with rage.

I’m oh so happy now and I hope that I can get to Korea and I SINCERELY hope that my recruiter doesn’t read this and thinking I’m a raging psychopath.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

